“Zemgale” / LLU once again wins “Liepāja” and takes over the leading positions of OHL

Derrick Santistevan
Zemgale/LLU hokejisti
Zemgale / LLU hockey players Photo: “Optibet” hockey league

“Zemgale” / LLU team will play Optibet Hockey League (OHL) for the second time in two days on Monday defeated “Liepāja” hockey players. “Zemgale” / LLU won “Liepāja” at home with 4: 3 (1: 0, 2: 0, 1: 3)

The result of the game in the ninth minute after the passes of Rustama Begova and Kirila Tambijeva was revealed by the striker Roberts Jekimovs. Almost 20 minutes later, in the middle of the second period, Frank Razgals doubled the lead, with the home team playing in the minority, but 3: 0 third was passed by Aleksandrs Visockis in the 14th minute

In the third minute of the third period, Razgals stood out for the second time, but in the remaining time only the guests scored. In the fourth minute of the period, the first goal for Liepāja was scored by the defender Artūrs Salija, less than five minutes later Renārs Kamergrauzis stood out, but in the tenth minute Egīls Kalns scored 3: 4.

Liepāja team had ten minutes to recover the draw, but the guests failed to break the game in the second meeting. Razgals scored two goals in this duel, but striker Artūrs Mickēvičs scored equally effective passes in the “Liepāja” team. Both teams also met in Jelgava the day before, celebrating their success with the result 3: 2. The victory “Zemgale” / LLU gained on Monday allowed to rise to the first place in the tournament table.

Championship leader with 42 points 25 in the games there is “Zemgale” / LLU, which is followed by “Olimp” / ”Venta 2002” with 41 points in 26 matches. “Mogo” / LSPA has accumulated 35 points in 28 doubles, “Liepāja” has earned 27 points in 23 games, Daugavpils “Dinaburga” has scored 16 points in 26 matches, Hockey school “Rīga” follows with ten points in 20 dues, but the last or seventh position with ten points in 24 games is won by “Prizma” / IHS.

In the 2020/2021 season OHL will play “Mogo” / LSPA, “Olimp” / ”Venta 2002”, “Zemgale” / LLU, Hockey school “Rīga”, Daugavpils “Dinaburga”, “Prizma” / IHS and “Liepāja”. In the previous season, eight teams played in the Latvian Premier League, but in the 2020/21 season there will be one team less, because “Kurbads” does not play in the tournament.

The playoffs were not played last season, but the winner of the local championship was “Olimp”. The newcomer to the tournament won the decisive points after “Riga” did not come to the last match of the season with the “Kurbads” team. With the success, Olimp earned the opportunity for the OHL to compete in the Continental Cup organized by the International Hockey Federation (IIHF), but the international competition was canceled.

The post “Zemgale” / LLU once again wins “Liepāja” and takes over the leading positions of OHL appeared first on World Weekly News.