Fighters Only World MMA Awards nominees, voting info, ceremony details

Derrick Santistevan

Nylon Calculus: Zion Williamson and Lonzo Ball have unique chemistry by Ian Levy

Who is the very best Alabama football hire this century? by Braulio Perez

Tony Ferguson with his Fighters Only award (picture through Fighters Only)

Fighters Only World MMA Awards nominees, voting info, ceremony details.

Among the normal highlights throughout UFC’s International Fight Week is the award ceremony for the Fighters Only World MMA Awards. Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus UFC‘s International Fight Week was canceled and the Award ceremony followed suit. That doesn’t mean we can’t still vote on the winners though.

Here’s all you need to know about the Fighters Only World MMA Awards

The award window has been extended from 12 months to 18 months to allow for the coronavirus impact. The nominations are considered from Jan 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020.

Fighters Only World MMA Awards nominees

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter Of The Year 

Henry CejudoIsrael AdesanyaJustin GaethjeJorge MasvidalDouglas Lima

Female Fighter Of The Year 

Valentina SchevchenkoWeili ZhangKayla HarrisonCris “Cyborg” JustinoAmanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter Of The Year

Weili ZhangAlexander VolkanovskiGilbert BurnsJorge MasvidalPetr Yan

International Fighter Of The Year

Weili ZhangKamaru UsmanIsrael AdesanyaValentina ShevchenkoAung La N Sang

Fight of the Year

Weili Zhang vs Joanna Jędrzejczyk (UFC 248)Kamaru Usman vs Colby Covington (UFC 245)Israel Adesanya vs Kelvin Gastelum (UFC 236)Dustin Poirer vs Dan Hooker (UFC Vegas 4)Josh Emmett vs Shane Burgos (UFC Vegas 3)

Knockout of the Year

Jorge Masvidal KOs Ben Askren (Flying Knee – UFC 239)Cody Garbrandt KOs Raphael Assuncao (Punch – UFC 250)Anthony Pettis KOs Stephen Thompson (Superman Punch – UFC Nashville)Sean O’Malley KOs Eddie Wineland (Punch – UFC 250)Douglas Lima KOs Michael Page (Punch – Bellator 221)

Submission of the Year

Brent Primus SUB Tim Wilde (Gogoplata – Bellator Birmingham)Bryce Mitchell SUB Matt Sayles (Twister – UFC on ESPN 7)Aviv Gozali SUB Eduard Muravitsky (Heelhook – Bellator 225)Demian Maia SUB Ben Askren (Rear-Naked Choke – UFC on ESPN+ 20)Misha Cirkunov SUB Jimmy Crute (Peruvian Necktie – UFC on ESPN+ 16)

Comeback of the Year

Stipe Miocic (Fight/Career) vs. Daniel Cormier 2Eddie Alvarez (Fight/Career) vs. Eduard FolayangJairzinho Rozenstruik (Fight) vs. Alistair OvereemPeter Queally (Fight) vs. Ryan ScopeCody Garbrandt (Career)

Upset of the Year

Alexander Volkanovski def. Max Holloway (UFC 245)Henry Corrales def. Aaron Pico (Bellator 214)Khama Worthy def. Devonte Smith (UFC 241)Kai Asakura def. Kyoji Horiguchi (RIZIN FF 18)Timofey Nastyukhin def. Eddie Alvarez (ONE Championship 92)

Shawn Tompkins Coach Of The Year 

Eugene BaremanSayif SaudMike BrownTrevor WittmanEric Albarracin

Trainer Of The Year

Andre HicksSunz SinghGeorge LockhartBo SandovalPhil Daru

Gym of the Year

Fortis MMAElevation Fight TeamSanfordAmerican Top TeamAmericans Kickboxing Academy

Referee of the Year

Herb DeanJason HerzogMike BeltranFrank TriggMarc Goddard

Ringcard Girl of the Year 

Cindy BakerJhenny AndradeLouise McKieBritanny PalmerMercedes Terrell

Leading Man

Dana WhiteDensign WhiteMartin LewandowskiNobuyuki SakakibaraScott Coker

Best Promotion

PFLKSWONE ChampionshipBellatorUFC

Personality of the Year

Jon AnikChael SonnenJohn McCarthyThe SchmoJoe Rogan

Analyst of the Year

Robin BlackMichael BispingPaul FelderDaniel CormierDan Hardy

Best MMA Programming

Ariel Helwani MMA ShowJoe Rogan ExperienceUFC EmbeddedDana White’s Contender SeriesAnatomy of a Fighter

MMA Media Source of the Year

SherdogESPNMMA JunkieThe Mac LifeThe Athletic

MMA Journalist of the Year

John MorganMike BohnBrett OkamotoAriel HelwaniGareth Davies

Fighting Spirit of the Year

Dustin Poirier (Good Fight Foundation)Justin Wren (Fight for the Forgotten)Robbie Lawler (Reaction to losing to Askren)Conor McGregor (PPE donation)Walt Harris (Comeback following loss of daughter)

Fighters Only World MMA Awards voting information

Voting for the awards began on July 1 and can be done by logging in here.

Fighters Only World MMA Awards ceremony info

Due to the coronavirus, specific dates and areas have actually not been exposed by the predicted date is October2020 In the past, the event is kept in Las Vegas, NV and it’s most likely to be held there once again.

Next: 10 MMA battles kept in mind for the incorrect factors

The post Fighters Only World MMA Awards nominees, voting info, ceremony details appeared first on World Weekly News.